Did James Cameron lie to millions of people about “TERMINATOR GENISYS”?

Unlike “Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines” and “Terminator Salvation”, fans everywhere knew that the creator of our favorite franchise, James Cameron actually had some involvement with the latest Terminator film “Terminator Genisys”.   Acknowledging that his goal was “being loosely attached to the film” without credit, all while accepting meetings between him and Skydance C.E.O. David Ellison (as well as writer Laeta Kalogridis) and offering story contributions, it is factual to say that Cameron did indeed help shape what “Terminator Genisys” ultimately became.

So it came to no surprise that on the bonus blu-ray “Terminator Genisys” special feature “Exiles in Time: Reflections & Looking Forward“,  James Cameron had this to say about Genisys:

“I had no idea what to expect sitting down. I wasn’t involved with the making of the film. I’m in a dark theater. Movie starts. And I start to see things I recognize, done with, you know, contemporary technology and all that, but things I recognize like okay, this is pretty cool.

It’s being very respectful of the first two films. And then all of a sudden it just swerves into completely new teritory and now I’m going on a journey. I’m just, I’m just a fanboy at that point. You know. The back of my mind I’m thinking, all right this is pretty good, it better not screw this up. (laughs). And I’m having this dialouge with myself throughout the film. (still laughing). You know, I’m thinking “Okay, that’s pretty good. Yeah all right. That’s good. Well they really captured the sense of Reese and Sarah and wow this all makes a lot of sense.” So I actually really enjoyed it.”

“Can I be objective? Can I guarantee that you’ll enjoy it? No. I just know that I enjoyed the film. You know, but I strongly suspect that everybody will. If you like the Terminator films… whether your my age and you saw them in the movie theater, or whether you saw them on DVD or cable later and it’s just part of your childhood maybe, you’re going to love this movie.”

-James Cameron on TERMINATOR GENISYS

Skydance even incorporated James Cameron’s positive feelings towards “Terminator Genisys” in this promotional video that went viral in 2015 before the film’s release.

But all of Cameron’s positive comments suddenly became suspect when the “News Corp Australia Network” (NCAN) interviewed James Cameron, and he had this to say:

JIM CAMERON: “I think it’s fairly widely known that I don’t have a lot of respect for the (Terminator) films that were made later (after T2). I was supportive at the time in each case for Arnold’s sake because he is a close friend. He has been a mate of mine since 33 years ago so I was always supportive and never too negative. But they didn’t work for me for various reasons.”

This unfortunately has caused other websites like bloody-disgusting.com to make the following assessment about James Cameron’s character:

BLOODY-DISGUSTING.COM “… he’s so loyal to Arnold that he’d lie about liking a film to millions of people to support him.”

So did James Cameron actually take back everything positive he ever had to say about “Terminator Genisys”, a film he said “in my mind I think of as the third film” (of the franchise) and commented “I feel like the franchise has been reinvigorated. Like this is a renaissance.”?

Without knowing the actual question the reporter asked, it is hard to say. If the reporter asked Cameron a question like ‘Jim, you reportedly liked Terminator 3 when it first came out, then changed your mind. Why?”, Cameron’s quote could be taken a lot differently, with more of his frustration aimed at “Terminator 3” and even “Terminator Salvation” rather than “Terminator Genisys”.

When it comes down to it, the last thing that Terminator fans want to see is James Cameron’s character called into question.  Did Cameron say all these positive things about “Terminator Genisys” just to support Arnold… or did he really like the film?  Will some fans not believe anything Cameron says anymore?  We hope not!

Let’s hope Jim has an opportunity soon to clarify how this damaging statement applies to “Terminator Genisys”.

We’ll be back.

Editors Note: This is an article we did not enjoy writing, but we promise to keep you informed with anything newsworthy, good or bad.

2 thoughts on “Did James Cameron lie to millions of people about “TERMINATOR GENISYS”?”

  1. I know Mr. Cameron spoke lovely things about Terminator 3 and Terminator Salvation only to take them back. However Mr. Cameron’s comments in reference to Terminator Genisys felt more legitimate. Who would put one’s self on camera and confess enjoyment masked as truth. It is insanity.

    However if Mr. Cameron was indeed dishonest it would feel like a slap to the face. It would be as disappointing as the day I learned Mr. Schwarzenegger cheated on his wife and had a baby with his housekeeper.

    Like

Leave a Reply

